Personal

Are You A Procrastinator? – Symptoms and Tips On How To Fight It

Recently, a friend approached me about content from my post When Life Gives You Lemons. (Hey Merilyn girl!) She mentioned that it was important to identify the manner in which people use my suggested tips -as people like herself- could be tempted, and use some of them as a way of procrastinating.

Therefore, how can you tell the difference between; reflecting and taking some well-deserved time out, as to when you’re just flat out procrastinating? And how do you snap out of that and become more productive?

Well, I put my hands up and say that I sometimes struggle with procrastination. I’ll set out various tasks that I need to do and allocate time to do them. Let’s say for instance- I plan on sorting out a work plan for the week at 8 PM, believe me when I say, if I look up at the clock and the time is 8:15 PM ha! I’ll “try again tomorrow”. This becomes particularly easy to do when I’m watching my favourite show as well! Especially when I’ve missed a couple of episodes – one turns into three, and before I know it, it’s 3:00 AM the next day.

Let’s try to reflect and be real with ourselves for one minute here. If you are not sure that you are a procrastinator, here are a few signs.

Do you tend to:

  1. Tell yourself you’ll do a certain task “tomorrow” when you know deep down it’s not going to happen?
  2. You focus on doing little tasks here and there, rather than getting stuck in on what’s really important?
  3. Have the strong urge to watch the new episode of GOT before you get started on work?
    Because how can you focus on all your deadlines when you don’t know what ‘Littlefinger’ has up his sleeve this time!
  4. You suddenly have the strong urge to nap. You know… to brace/gear yourself up for the work load that awaits you.
  5. You suddenly can’t stop reloading and refreshing your Snapchat, Instagram, even Twitter feed, knowing damn well that there’s nothing new to see on there… because you just checked SIX SECONDS AGO.
  6. You usually gulp down dinner in five minutes, but now, it takes you a solid thirty minutes because you want to indulge and appreciate all the flavours…chewing two minutes per spoonful.

Said ‘YES’ to more than two of those? Well, here are some tips n tricks, to see us all through this struggle:

  1. Set reasonable targets and deadlines.
    You need to be honest with yourself. If you have a 5,000 word report due in two weeks, start off with a couple hundred a day, because that all nighter you’re planning to pull… that is the day that your laptop will refuse to come on, you lose your bus pass so you struggle to make your way to the Uni library, and when you do finally get there all the desktops are booked for the day. I could go on, but don’t be that guy. Set realistic goals and targets and you will have no problem in accomplishing them.
  2. Use Peer Pressure
    If all your friends have started their own tasks, you’ll feel more inclined to get started on yours too, especially if its Uni related work.
    However, if you have a circle of friends that are also procrastinators then -na wah for you oh!
  3. Treat Yourself
    For every page of that recommended reading for your next class that you do, treat yourself to a smartie, skittles, m&m.
    Side note – This does not work with alcohol. For obvious reasons.
  4. Stay Away From Your Phone
    Honestly you’re not doing yourself any favours. Replying to that ONE text from *insert your crush/bestfriend/boy/girlfriend’s name here* will turn into ten, and then suddenly it’s the next day, you haven’t slept and you’ve missed all your deadlines.Put your phone off and focus on the task at hand.
    The most important thing to do is to actually start a task. No matter how small that initial input is in the beginning, once you’ve started, just keep going. Keep moving forward.
2 thoughts on “Are You A Procrastinator? – Symptoms and Tips On How To Fight It

  1. Couldn’t stop smiling while reading this piece because it completely relates to me. What I’ve realized about myself is that I do my best work when I’m under pressure. However I don’t start it all on that final day. If I have to write a paper, I practically write it in my head over time and when that final day comes, it’s just a matter of putting pen to paper. I guess everyone is different but I will certainly apply some of your suggestions now that I’ve started my MBA program. Great post V

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy you found this post relatable! Thanks so much for all your support and feedback so far.
      Amazing how you can work like that lol! Everyone is definitely different indeed. Aww goodluck on your MBA course – stay focused 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

